Begginers road bike <£200

dannyshocker
dannyshocker Posts: 31
edited September 2010 in Road beginners
I have had a mountain bike for 3 years and go on it maybe once or twice a month. However, commuting to and from college is a drag as it doesn't go very fast and by having a go on a road bike over the summer and seeing I can go >30mph with ease, I now want a road bike!

However, I am a total newbie, have no clue about what road bike to buy and how good a bike I can get. I would say I only really want to spend c.£150 but maybe £200 at a push! Is this enough to get a base level road bike? It would be for cycling to and from college (about 6miles away) and maybe a 15-20mile cycle on every other weekend

Cheers for any help given!

Comments

• For that budget you would be looking at Second hand. To really get a half decent spec on a new Road bike, you need to shell out £500-£600, as the big hitters in the component department really start to shine here on a budget.

Check Ebay for any of the usual suspects such as Specialized, Trek etc, and if possible, have a Road bike savvy friend go with you to check over the components before you part with cash!

Another thought could be checking your LBS for any crazy special deals they have, but I would be suprised to see anything of real quality for that budget.

Sorry its not better news, but you will really love a GOOD road bike, and could just as easily Hate a cheap substitute!
    exercise.png
  • Pretre
    Pretre Posts: 355
    For that budget you would be looking at Second hand. To really get a half decent spec on a new Road bike, you need to shell out £500-£600, as the big hitters in the component department really start to shine here on a budget.

Check Ebay for any of the usual suspects such as Specialized, Trek etc, and if possible, have a Road bike savvy friend go with you to check over the components before you part with cash!