Hi and a little help needed

cycle.monkey
cycle.monkey Posts: 23
edited September 2010 in Road beginners
Hi all

I'm new to road riding and this forum, so please be gentle lol

I have been riding a mountain bike with slicks on for a little while, but picked up my first roady bike yesterday. Took it out for a quick 15 mile blast this morning and bloomin love it. So much better using the proper tool for the job.

I started riding to lose weight and get fit. The problem I am having tho is that when I get back from a ride I just want to eat everything in site. Cant help it, I need fuel. Needless to say i am eating all the wrong food as i dont know what i should be eating. So could someone please let me know what I should eat after a ride to refuel my body and stop my cravings so I dont pack calories back into my body, or else I'll be a fat bloke forever haha.

Hope this makes sense. :?

Hope to speak to some of you soon.

Mick ;)

Comments

• Most plans say you need a certain amount of simple carbs within 15 mins of finish. This gives your body what it needs. Then in about an hour a balanced carb/protien meal. Being the informed disorganised duffer i am, I find the initial fuel gets missed (cat gets fed though!) and I scram too much too late. In the past I have done it right and lost some weight as opposed to falling into "You're starving me!" mode
    Neil
    Help I'm Being Oppressed
  • cycle.monkey cant really ofter any advice as i know exactly how you feel. came back from my first ride yesterday & had a bananna & apple straight away, 20 minutes later i was raiding the biscuit tin. never going to loose weight at this rate.
    Definatly interested to see what replies you get.
    spesh allez sport triple 2010, boardman team hybrid, planet x procarbon, tern link p24