Some real Lube advice............

mak3m
mak3m Posts: 1,394
edited September 2010 in MTB beginners
.............Please

still a complete newb

but when i started riding a couple of months back i looked into maintenance etc and the importance of looking after your drive train. Scouring the internet i found the wet and the dry lube camps and even people who dont know what rain or mud is who suggested wax.

In desperation i turned to my LBS and the chap there handed me a bottle of wet lube and said this covers all riding conditions from dry to snow.

So i took in a couple of more youtube tutes and tucked in.

i mainly ride x country and country lanes so a mix of materials from tarmac to mud, and i appear to be having to clean and relube my chain after 3-4 rides. I followed the instructions, stipping off all the gunk from the chain and cogs, lightly lubing and removing the excess. yet within a short period of time my chain and cogs get covered in a dark grey grinindg paste and i have to repeat the process. Im reasonably confident im not putting too much on as it was my first thought and i have been gradually reducing the amount lube each time to no avail.

i would be grateful if you could help me with the following questions:

1) Dry or wet lube and if possible some pros and cons

2) is it dry in the summer and wet in the winter and if so should i just keep going till spring on the wet

3) Could the amount of lube im using still be the problem or is it just that wet lube is higher maintenance.

appreciate its a bit of a numpty question and im sure there will be a number of views but any help would be appreciated.

TL:DR version

Wet v Dry lube :P

Comments

• Makes very little difference. Oil is oil.

All chains get black. A drive train needs some care (even if just a wipe) every 75 miles.

A well tuned ear can actually tell when a chain does not have enough lube on it.
  • .blitz
    .blitz Posts: 6,197