Grinding noise when i peddle after my first trail ride.

dubcat
dubcat Posts: 737
edited September 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi,

I rode at Surrey Hills today and it seems to be quite sandy up there. My chain, cassette and rear gear (is it called a drailier?) are covered in a gritty sand. My bike is making a grinding noise when I peddle. Do i have to clean it already after just one ride or can i ride it with the grinding noise?

Sorry for the total noob question. Was not sure whether to post here or in beginners.

Dub
2010 Specialized Rockhopper
2012 Bianchi Infinito

Comments

• warpcow
    warpcow Posts: 1,448
    I probably would and I'm lazy when it actually comes to cleaning my bike. I just like a silent drivetrain. That and the fork are about the only things I do clean regularly. If you get into the habit now, it'll do good in the long run.

Still, it's not exactly going to explode if you don't.
  • The grinding noise is me grinding my teeth because you say 'when I peddle'. The word you want is 'pedal'. 'Peddle' means to sell things, especially door-to-door and so on.
  • dubcat
    Haha I am a actually blushing at my spelling mistake. Ok thanks for the cleaning advice. I am a proper lazy git but I guess I had better buy some degreaser and put that chain cleaner I bought to some use.

When cleaning the forks do yoU just wipe the shiny silver bit with a damp cloth or do you do something more?
    2012 Bianchi Infinito
  • warpcow
    warpcow Posts: 1,448
    http://steveukmtb.wordpress.com/basic-cleaning-and-maintenance-guide/fork-and-shock-cleaning/

I pretty much follow the above for cleaning, except I use an old soft-bristled brush for getting behind the arch and bought some Finishline Stanchion Lube (probably not worth it, but it's nice).
  • dubcat
    Brill! ThAnks very much :)
    2012 Bianchi Infinito
  • lesz42
    lesz42 Posts: 690
    Giant Trance X0 (08) Reverb, Hope Hoops 5.1D, XT brakes, RQ BC, Works Components headset 1.5
  • diy