Road Shoes - any advice would be great

srl1967
srl1967 Posts: 2
edited September 2010 in Road beginners
Hi,

I am relatively new to road cycling, got hooked and now cant get enough :D The problem I have at the moment is my shoes. It seems like different shops give different advice and I now I am no longer sure what is right.

I bought a pair of Specialzed Sport Road shoes for about £60, a size up from my usual size, but after an hour of riding my outer toes and balls of my feet were numb, also could feel my big toe pressing against the front of the shoe. I tried loosening the straps but it made no difference.

I thought perhaps it was the shoes so I went to another shop and they said you need a thumbnails distance spare in front of your toe, so I changed the shoes and went for a 46 in some Shimano R081s. I am usually a 43, but a thumbnail distance at the front = 46. I have used these a couple times now and although my toe isnt touching the front, my feet continue to go numb. Also they feel a bit sloppy when climbing hills. Now the shop suggests insoles costing about £30

Should I go for insoles or a different brand closer fitting shoe, ie one around my actual size in a different make? Or is it correct that I should go massively bigger like I have? Any ideas about the numbness? Any help would be great and save me a fortune in new shoes :shock: Do you get what you pay for with shoes ie as I am buying at the bottom end of the market, so is that why I am getting problems?

Thanks

Comments

• dmch2
    dmch2 Posts: 731
    I used to cycle in trainers but recently got SPD-SL shoes/pedals. Whilst the connection to the pedals and ability to pull as well as push is superb they are a lot less comfy than trainers. I wouldn't say my feet go numb but I can certainly feel it after an hour.

How many rides have you done with them? I suspect it's mostly a case of getting used to something that's just a bit different.
    2010 Trek 1.5 Road - swissstop green, conti GP4000S