help setting up rear mech needed!! please!

swagger
swagger Posts: 111
edited September 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
hi chaps.

i bought an xt771 medium cage a couple of days ago. when i bought it i was told it had been run as part of 3x9 setup.

im running 3x8 and i cant get the mech to pick up 1 and 2. can get all the others tho. have a ballsed up and bought somthing the doesnt suit? or am i doing somthing wrong?

to get it to stay on the smallest on the back the screw has to be all the way in, the high adjustet screw is all the way out!

i have never done this before as ive always run single speed.

many thanks
joe
"People ask me what I'm on. What am I on? I'm on my bike - busting my ass - six hours a day. What are you on?"
Lance Armstrong

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    you need to either set the stop screw or adjust the tension.

read the great How To on parktools.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • swagger
    thanks for that mate. useful stuff!

i still cant remedy the problem tho!
    "People ask me what I'm on. What am I on? I'm on my bike - busting my ass - six hours a day. What are you on?"
    Lance Armstrong
  • nicklouse
    have you read the instructions?

one screw stops the mech falling off the cogs at one end and the other stops it falling off the other.

the tension sets the position it has between each shift.

all it is is set up. and your stops are wrong.

also make sure nothing is bent.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
  • swagger
    ive read the park tools page through a couple of thimes and it seems that theres not enough adjustment to to allow the mech all the way to the 2 lowest gears.

even with the high adjuster screw set so that it is moved as far in the correct direction as possible.

does that make sense?

joe
    Lance Armstrong