Tyre and Mudguard advice needed

Kazz_uk
Kazz_uk Posts: 73
edited September 2010 in Commuting general
Hey

So I'm looking at getting some mudguards as the wet 'n crappy weather approaches as well as some tyres, still using the stock ones at the moment. But as I'm fairly new to the cycling scene I need a bit of guidance :).

Here's my lil hybrid which I use for commuting and trails.

Tyres: 700x37C (no idea on brand)
Rims: Rigida Cyber 10 700C, 32H, cnc (guessing that they are these?)

I've heard good things about the Schwalbe Marathon Pluses, so do you think I should go for City type or the Cross type? Most of the time I'm on the road, but on weekends and evenings I use trails (gravel, stones, dirt etc). Can't really afford to get both and switch when needed.

As for Mudguards, I've noticed there seems to be 2 types, the plasticy short flaps and ones that actually cover the tyre. I'm guessing one is for MTB's and the other for road? Would these (50mm Hybrid) be suitable for my commute? and fit the wheels / tyres ok?

Thanks in advance for any help, much appreciated :)
Cycling Newbie
I reserve the right to ask dumb questions :)

Comments

• Marathon Plus is definitely a good choice. I've ridden the city ones for several years, but would not recommend them for off-road use. I can't comment on the cross tyre you listed, but the fact that it doesn't have a continuous line would suggest road riding may be a little annoying.

Have you considered the Continental Top Contact tyre. I bought one a year ago, and though I thought it was a little extravagant to spend £44 on a single tyre (includes a good inner tube as well), after 5,000 miles without puncture and minimal wear I am extremely pleased. They also offer more grip in the wet than the Marathon Plus.