Inside Quad/Thigh Muscle...

simon johnson
simon johnson Posts: 1,064
edited September 2010 in Training, fitness and health
...anybody got a decent exercise to strengthen this area. I have an imbalance, with the outer muscle(s), realtively, way more developed.

Thanks.
Where\'s me jumper?

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Try lunges but make sure your feet are straight forward and your knee tracks straight rather than drifting in. Just using body weight is fine...

I had this issue when I broke my leg and was undergoing physio, sorted it nicely!
  • Because of the limited range of motion that your leg travels while cycling, it only works the lateral part of your quads, but not the medial (inner) part. That is because the medial part only comes into play with roughly the last 10-15 dgrees of extension. Doing isometric quad sets and/or using a leg extension machine - limiting the motion to only this area of extension - will help balance out the quadriceps.
  • Garz
    Garz Posts: 1,155
    The outer muscle of the quad looks more under-developed for me.. strange. :(
  • for future references.

adductor and abductor are the correct terms for this muscle ;)

i suggest lunges with weights but not too heavy.
    Coveryourcar.co.uk RT Tester
    north west of england.
  • GavH
    GavH Posts: 933
    Because of the limited range of motion that your leg travels while cycling, it only works the lateral part of your quads, but not the medial (inner) part. That is because the medial part only comes into play with roughly the last 10-15 dgrees of extension. Doing isometric quad sets and/or using a leg extension machine - limiting the motion to only this area of extension - will help balance out the quadriceps.

^ What he said!