Dealing with rocky downhills

Shaunw1973
Shaunw1973 Posts: 31
edited September 2010 in MTB beginners
What's the best way to deal with rocky decents?

I'm new to the MTB scene, and this is something that's become a bit of a problem for me.

My natural instict is to brake, especially as I pick more speed coming down hill, but I've managed to avoid doing that. Is it just a case of get over it and keep moving?

Thanks

Comments

• sniper68
    sniper68 Posts: 2,910
    A bit of speed is your friend.If you have to brake feather it on and off and try not to drag them,you want to maintain momentum.
    Make sure your weight is over the rear wheel not the front so you need to hang of the back of the bike.Dropping your saddle will help 8)
    As you get more confident you'll speed up :D
    Where are you based?Following more experienced riders will also help with line choice etc.
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    I used to hate rocky descents. Speed really helps, as you go faster the wheels just skip over the tops of the rocks. Stay off the front brake as well & keep your weight back.
  • mobilekat
    mobilekat Posts: 245
    Using the attack position will help- get bum in air, and knees apart so that bike can move side to side under you, you can then move weight back or forwards depending upon the slope you are heading down.

If you have the time/cash/sense, try to get onto a skills course as a few hours with a decent instructor is worth so much- as its often hard to know if you are getting the basics right! They can then help you perfect your technique and get even faster!
    Wheeze..... Gasp..... Ruddy hills.......
  • bamba
    bamba Posts: 856
    Following some else who no's def helps (cheers ibbo), what are you ridding ? fs or ht ?
    im a recent convert to fs an tend to find my self looking for the rougher options on the downhill routes now instead of the smoother .