Advice on how to stiffen 120mm RS tora 302 forks please.

lexinoo
lexinoo Posts: 132
edited September 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi,i have a giant trance x4 with 120mm tora forks that i wish to stiffen up,i am fairly new to mtb so i have a few stupid questions.
Originally i was thinking of trying to fit a lockout,but now i feel it may be easier , cheaper and more useful to fit stiffer springs,as the bike bobs about all over the place when i try to get some drive up hills,and they are using up all the travel on rough downhills(monkey trail),but please correct me if im wrong.I have the preload set to max and about 25mm of sag sitting on it,when i take it for a steady ride down the street it is using about 45 mm of travel.
Am i right in thinking my forks have a spring in the left hand side and no oil,and only oil in the right hand side and no spring.?
How will i know what springs are currently fitted?will they be stamped with a number or something?
I have searched the web for tips but i am totally confused ,as there seem to be so many different types of tora 302 s ,some are air,some spring ,some lockout,some dont ,some have poplock?
Mine are the white standard forks that came on the 2010 trance 4x,they are 120mm travel,have preload adjustment on the LHS,and just a rebound damping lever at the bottom of the right hand leg.
Has anyone ever fitted a lockout to these ?is it a hard job?Sorry for the ramblings,thanks.

Comments

• Matt 24k
    Matt 24k Posts: 186
    If you want to limit the travel while climbing then lockout is what you need. It would be helpful to let us know how much you weigh and what size frame your bike has. Rockshox offer soft, medium and firm springs and some bike manufacturers have different weights of spring in different size bikes. However, from what you say about your sag and level of travel on the smooth, it sounds like you aren't too far out on the spring rate as it should bottom out every once in while on tough trails.
  • lexinoo