First ever 100 mile Sportive - how much food to carry?

Aud Reekie MTB
Aud Reekie MTB Posts: 164
Hello all,

I commute to work and commonly to 40 mile rides at the weekends, but I've never done a Sportive before.

I'm doing the Glasgow Edinburgh 100 mile Pedal for Scotland.

Have never tried energy bars before. Will 3 do together with a camelbak full of water?

What do you carry on these rides?

Andy

Comments

• AndyRubio
    AndyRubio Posts: 880
    I always take loads, general rule is one Go bar per hour, plus an extra one. It means my jersey pockets are bulging but better safe than sorry.

And loads of water.

If it's a sportive then there should also be feed stops, but you can't count om them having anything to eat/drink.

Enjoy it, let us know how you get on.

Andy
  • I usually plan to take enough to eat that will allow me to miss the first feed stop without having to starve myself. You can make up a lot of lost places that way while other people are caught up in the scrum for bananas. Later feed stops aren't usually so crowded.
  • holmeboy
    holmeboy Posts: 674
    Eat something just before you set off (banana/energy bar). 2 banana's, 2 energy bars, 2 bottles energy drink with powder to make more on route (refill water bottles at stops). Coupla other bars of your choice and a bag of ride shots in case you blow.
  • brin
    brin Posts: 1,122
    depends when the sportive is taking place, but if you haven't tried energy bars before how do you know you will like them? pointless taking stuff that may not agree with you, just chuck some jelly beans/babies in your jersey and chance the feed stops en-route for banana's cakes and flapjacks, also wouldn't bother with a camelback, 2 bottles should be enough - juice not water- and again top up at the feedstops, if it's your 1st sportive you aren't going to beat a p.b. - rather establish one for next year, enjoy.
  • Cheers guys.

I seem to be able to eat most stuff! Are bananas better than mars bars?