Should I cycle in the winter?

bryantur
bryantur Posts: 7
edited August 2010 in Commuting general
I've been cycling to work now for two years but I skipped last winter (picking it up again in April) as it felt quite dangerous especially cycling in the dark and in poor weather conditions. Not least as I have two young kids safety is very important to me.

Last week I bought a Condor Fratello as my Marin Muirwoods hybrid basically wore out so I will have a great bike in a few weeks once it's built.

Basically, should I be riding to work through central London over the winter and how can I mitigate the dangerous aspect of London / winter riding other than staying highly visible? I've no idea if it's statistically more dangerous in winter to be honest but it does feel like it.

Grateful for any advice on this.

Also my first post on this forum.
Condor Fratello

Comments

• thel33ter
    thel33ter Posts: 2,684
    As long as you have decent headlights and clothing you will be fine until it get icy, then I wouldn't recommend it, its a scary feeling putting your foot down and just sliding.
    And now you know, and knowing is half the battle
    05 Spesh Enduro Expert
    05 Trek 1000 Custom build
    Speedily Singular Thingy
  • hfidgen
    hfidgen Posts: 340
    yeah likewise not had any issues commuting through London over winter. Can still be fun, and on a crisp morning is really very pleasant!

It can be pretty miserable in the rain, but then if it's 7am and properly pissing down you might want to consider the tube anyway. Fair weather cycling in winter is a little more acceptable on the manly scale than being rain-shy in 20 degree June :P

Hi-vis jacket and perhaps something on your rucksack is a must as are some powerful lights. I see plenty of guys with 2 rears and at least one powerful beam on the front.

The only other downside is keeping the bike clean and lubed.