Commuting - silly question

Roscobob
Roscobob Posts: 344
edited August 2010 in Road beginners
Morning all :D

I start commuting to work on my shiny new C2W bike on Monday. It's a 32 mile round trip and I was wondering if it is realistic to expect to do this every day without my legs falling off. I'm relatively new to cycling and whilst I can easily cover this distance I'm wondering if doing it every day will be different.

Any comments appreciated.

Cheers

Comments

• Morning :)

You've made a lot of posts for someone new to cycling!

Some good suggestions here

http://www.bikeradar.com/forums/viewtop ... =#16408231
  • Roscobob
    Morning :)

You've made a lot of posts for someone new to cycling!

Some good suggestions here

http://www.bikeradar.com/forums/viewtop ... =#16408231

Mostly in cake stop :lol:

Cheers for the link!
  • danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877
    Who knows, try it, see what happens?.

Personally, I'd say probably no, especially if you are new to cycling, depends on your job, but my commute is 34 miles round trip, and I can only muster 3-4 days out of 5.
  • amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    Probably best to build up to doing it every day. Maybe have a crack at doing it every day for a week and see how you feel. If you can rest at the weekend then you might be okay, but if you like to go out for a long ride then it'll probably be too much.

Might be a good idea to give yourself a bit of extra time some days and ride easy - doing that can be as good as a day off.
    More problems but still living....
  • anto164
    anto164 Posts: 3,500
    My commute is also 32 mile round trip I cycle in 4 days out of the 5, with the 1 day to take clean clothing to work to put in my locker, saves me taking anything with me on the bike.

Keep racing myself too, can make it into work (16 mi) in 45 minutes, and ride back in 48 mins (Slightly more uphill on the way back)