Bikes on Planes

Dav3m
Dav3m Posts: 84
edited August 2010 in Commuting general
Hi all,

In September I'm heading up to Scotland and taking the bike and I'm wondering how best to take it on the airplane.

Now I think most airlines require some sort of bike bag/box - but as I'm taking my bike up to do riding (and it'll be my primary mode of transport) then I don't want to be lugging around a big bike bag or bike box with me!

So:
1) Does anyone know a bike bag that compresses down to a small size and is not heavy
or
2) Has anyone taken their bike onboard a plane in some other form of box, e.g. what if I could get an empty cardboard box from my LBS?

Kind Regards,
David

Comments

• tgotb
    tgotb Posts: 4,714
    Is there a left luggage place in the airport you're flying to?
    Pannier, 120rpm.
  • rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 27,777
    TGOTB wrote:

I've no direct experience of taking a bike on a plane, but have seen baggage handlers at work, and I don't think I'd risk a soft bag. TGOTB's suggestion sounds like a good one.
    1985 Mercian King of Mercia - work in progress (Hah! Who am I kidding?)
    Pinnacle Monzonite

Part of the anti-growth coalition
  • Dav3m
    TGOTB wrote:

Not sure - why? I'm planning on riding my bike in Scotland so don't want to leave it in left luggage :-)
  • notsoblue
    notsoblue Posts: 5,756
    TGOTB wrote:

Good idea! Bike in Bikebox, fly, leave Bikebox at airport :)
  • Dav3m
    Ah I understand. I'm flying to Inverness Airport which unfortuantly has no left luggage facility...
  • alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    I use a CTC bike bag

It is just a big tough plastic bag, it folds up small enough to take on tour. The theory is that if the handlers see a bike they handle it with respect, whereas a bike in a (thick fabric) bike bag or a box just gets slung about and ends up under other stuff.