5 months of power data

amaferanga
amaferanga Posts: 6,789
Bored at work today so thought I'd review my power data since I started training with power back in March. This is also my first year training properly and racing.

Well I say training properly, but it doesn't seem to have resulted in much improvement....

I've tested my FTP a few times, but its been fairly static rising only about 10 Watts since April. I haven't specifically tested for shorter durations so I'm going off efforts mostly from races.

5 sec: peak in April, equalled in July == no real improvement
20sec: peak in July ~80W above previous peak == steady trend of improvement since April
1min: peak in May, ~40W above July peak == no real improvement
5min peak: peak in June/July only 10W better than April == no real improvement
10min peak: peak in April/May == no real improvement
20min peak: peak in July only 3W more than April == no real improvement
30min peak: peak in May, but almost equalled several times in June/July == little bit of improvement

Now, I haven't been testing specifically so it may be that I can actually churn out more Watts now than back in April, but I had kind of hoped to see more of a general trend of improvement. Interestingly I seemed to go backwards at the start of June after doing a couple of very hard sportives, one of which did me in for a good week afterwards.

I've done some power profiling and my 5min and 60min powers are good for the level I race at, but my 5s and 1min are very average. That fits with the type of training I've been doing - not enough L5/L6/L7.

How does this compare with what you see? Am I wasting my time looking at these since I haven't been formally testing? This year for me has been a great learning experience even if I haven't improved as much as I'd hoped, which should set me up nicely for the winter and next year.
More problems but still living....

Comments

• amaferanga
    5sec
    5s.JPG

1min
    1min.JPG

5min
    5min.JPG

10min