QUESTION ABOUT TRANSPORTATION OF NEW BIKE FROM SHOP TO HOME

chuck norris2k9
chuck norris2k9 Posts: 12
edited August 2010 in Road beginners
Hi all, im a newbie to the road bike scene but at 37 yrs old ive always ridden mtb/bmx

im just about to order a trek 1.2 from a reputable dealer online, but as i live in east lincs its a good 1.5 hrs from home.

they dont deliver trek bikes (understandable), or do for about £26.

plus id much rather go to the shop and get fitted properly and to pick some other bits up too.

i suppose my main prob is getting the bike back home, obviously im driving there and it will lay flat if i drop the back seats. is this ok to do this? or do i need some sort of rack or carrier? i dont really wanna spend any more on a carrier etc. will the shop question it if i lay it in the car?

Comments

• skyd0g
    skyd0g Posts: 2,540
    You should be fine laying it in the back - take some old sheets etc to stop it moving around too much. Maybe also remove the front / rear wheels if necessary.

The shop won't question you doing this - you've paid for it!
    Cycling weakly
  • lucan
    lucan Posts: 339
    I'm sure the shop will not only advise you, but will help you load it into the car safely. I recently had the same issue and they loaded it for me and gave me some large cardboard sheets to ensure it didn't fall against the spare wheels, frame etc. that were also being collected.

Enjoy your new bike!
    Summer: Kuota Kebel
    Winter: GT Series3
  • thanks, just wanted to make sure before i travel next week
  • Weejie54
    Weejie54 Posts: 750
    You could put a blanket on the floor of the car, remove the front wheel and lay the bike (mech side up) on the blanket.
    If the car would take a bike in a cardboard bike box, then the shop should oblige.
  • anto164
    anto164 Posts: 3,500
    +1 for all the above comments.

my roadbike just gets put into the boot of my ford focus with both wheels still on my steed!