best bike for £1000 for hill climbing

kaz285
kaz285 Posts: 17
edited August 2010 in Road beginners
Im new to cycling, I have a saracen morzine road bike but are useless at hills I converted it to a triple, not sure what the middle is but the top is 52 smallest 30. I dont want speed just the ability to climb hills without panicing and wondered if a new bike would help, I know practise makes perfect but maybe a lighter low geared bike would help!!! Or a small engine on the back!

Comments

• squigs
    squigs Posts: 149
    I thought exactly the same when I started, but it really is down to keep doing the hills. In 6 months you will wonder why you asked the question. Converting to a triple just adds more weight where a compact would really still have given you the same options. I do hills as easily on my compact as the triple if not easier.
    Sirrus Comp 2010 (commuting)
    Roubaix Pro SL Sram red (Weekend sportives)
    Certini Campagnolo Mirage (Turbo trainer)
  • How long have you been cycling?

I dithereed about changing my setup for so long I ended up getting fit enough to manage the hills on my commute anyway.
  • retrobike007
    retrobike007 Posts: 215
    Stick with it, I have been road riding for about 3 weeks now and the hills are starting to easier already 8)
  • Twilheimer
    Twilheimer Posts: 189
    Definately stick with it. If you spend 1K on a new super light bike, you'l end up no fitter, or better at hills. Theres no achievement in spending money, but there is in seeing improvement without spending. Invest in your skills mate, not the bike! Good luck with the hills.
  • kaz285
    Thanks, suppose the only way to tackle a hill is to go as far as possible without stopping but I presume dont be afraid to stop then next time try get up with less stops until I can do it fully, I live in West Yorks so they are pretty tough, my head gives out before my legs and I keep telling myself I cant do it and I panic.
  • Buckled_Rims