new forest/ hampshire training rides

topmoxy
topmoxy Posts: 138
im quite new to road riding, have recently completed a 24 hour 230 mile charity ride and have entry for the New Forest Rattler in August. i find it hard to keep pushing myself to get better average speed when riding solo so im looking for training rides in my area to join. i have searched local clubs but cant seem to find much in the way of training rides. any help much appeciated. moxy

Comments

• Mr Smooth
    Mr Smooth Posts: 70
    Whereabouts in the Forest do you live?

There's a group that meets on Wednesday evenings at the Augustus John in Fordingbridge - 7pm.

We do about 25-30 miles, ave speed 16-19mph, stop at a pub a few miles out on the return, then back to the AJ for a beer and to eat.

PM if you want more info - or feel free to come along!
  • topmoxy
    hi, thanks for the offer, im the other side of the forest in sway, but would still head over that way for a ride . im not sure if i would hold you up though, when riding solo i average about 16 , would that be a problem for the rest of the group. cheers moxy
  • Mr Smooth
    Mr Smooth Posts: 70
    Don't worry about that - there's a variety of abilities, and I'm sure the current slowcoaches would be more than happy to have someone share the load!

It isn't a training run, it's a social ride, with a bit of competetiveness on the hills etc. And riding with a group is a great way to get faster

Mrs S and I rode around the IoW on Sunday and averaged about 14.5mph, but we tend to be near the front of the group on Wednesdays so I'm sure you'll be fine.
  • ...well done for completing the DFBR....i did it also! (i was on the Kuota Kharma red/black road bike) :lol:

I live in bournemouth and ride at least 5 days a week,so if you want to get out for a spin , give us a call and we'll sort a ride out....i average about 16-17 mph , so we're about the same level....