defy 3.5 not allowing full range of gears

peterhdoherty
peterhdoherty Posts: 8
edited July 2010 in Workshop
Hi I am just new to cycling and have just bought a new gaint defy 3.5, the looks and feels great but when riding I am constantly having to change up and down on the front crankset because for example when in the middle ring at the front i cannot go to the outside cog at the back with out it clicking on the front derailleur and the same when in the top ring at the front I cannot go to the larger cogs at the back. has any one any ideas or is this just normal.

Comments

• amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    You do know that you can trim the front mech right? That usually stops this from happening.
    More problems but still living....
  • a.palmer
    a.palmer Posts: 504
    Because you're not supposed to use big/big or small/small. It gives you a chain line far from straight and causes excessive wear to the chain and chainrings
  • Thanks for the quick reply. Sorry to sound stupid but can you explain how to trim the front? is this by ajusting the cable?
  • redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    You aren't necessarily supposed to be able to use the "full range of gears".

A lot depends on crankset, chainstay length, etc. What you are experiencing is totally normal.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    A.Palmer wrote:
    Because you're not supposed to use big/big or small/small. It gives you a chain line far from straight and causes excessive wear to the chain and chainrings

True, but he's talking about middle/small anyway.

Thanks for the quick reply. Sorry to sound stupid but can you explain how to trim the front? is this by ajusting the cable?