Front end grip

monkeylizard
monkeylizard Posts: 155
edited July 2010 in MTB beginners
No, not the usual "what's the best tyre?" question - more of a technique thing.

Since I put myself in hospital for a week a few months ago as a result of losing the front end, I've slowed right down when cornering. This has been made worse recently because of the trails drying out (being a noob, I thought everything would get really grippy in summer - no one told me that gravel and sand was more slippery than mud!).

So how do I get some speed back? I know every corner is different, but are there any general rules for maximising front end grip? Should I accept that the front end is going to slip occasionally (I spent a long time on road motorbikes where any front end slide is a very bad thing...)? Do I just need to thrash it, fall off and realise I'm not going to end up in A&E every time I bin it?

Please help in any way you can before riding like a complete jessie becomes force of habit. Thank you :)

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Try getting your weight further forward when cornering. This can be promoted by using a longer stem, lower bars, but especially by having the saddle further forward. Too many people use lay back saddles to their detriment.

Also a bigger vlume, gripper front tyre, slightly less pressure, and running more fork sag.
  • monkeylizard
    Thanks for the tips, SS.

I can see the logic of getting more weight on the front when the ground conditions are grippy... but my brain is trying to convince me that when it's loose, gravelly, sandy type stuff putting more weight on the front will make it break away quicker...?
  • peter413
    peter413 Posts: 5,120
    Take your inside foot off the pedal and get ready to dab if needs be.

Worked for me and now I can slide without even thinking about taking my foot off the pedal.