Building a bike from frame up, and sourcing parts

dcurzon
dcurzon Posts: 290
edited August 2010 in The workshop
Hi all
Whilst i have been looking around to buy a bike, the idea has come to mind that i could possibly build one... this way, i get all the specs that i'd like, rather than specs of a pre-built bike.

I have plenty of spanners experience (raced motorcycles for too many years) so tools and fear of them are not an issue. Biggest issue really would be knowing what is compatible with what (eg. would a triple fit with xyz frame etc)

Is it worth looking into going down this path? My other theory is that i could pick up a working complete bike, and maintaining that would give me a bit more knowledge on bicycle mechanics, as well as plenty of time to self build.
B'Twin Sport 1
FCN 7 =4, +2(non cycling clothes) +1(beard)

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    will cost more if you buy separate parts.

find a good LBS and talk to them about what you want and see what they could build it for.

but most things will fit most frames.

have a look at Parktools and Sheldons sites for How Tos and what tools are needed.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Ian.B
    Ian.B Posts: 732