Bike Fit

m00nd0g
m00nd0g Posts: 176
edited July 2010 in MTB general
I have recently been for a Giant Bike fit.
They did a lot of measuring then typed my measurements into a computer.
Today I have been out.
I ran out of gears up the hills.
On the return journey my knee hurt.
I nearly raised the saddle.
ShouldI just stick with it?
I guess its going to take a few miles before the muscles get used to it?

Comments

• cloudynights
    cloudynights Posts: 351
    if your brand new to riding it takes about 12 months to build up what i call cycling legs,this includes fitness and knowing how to set your bike up for you.
    just go out and enjoy it yeah move your seatpost height experiment with stuff its all part of learning

best of luck
    anthem x with many upgrades
  • m00nd0g
    m00nd0g Posts: 176
    Thanks for the reply.
    I have been riding for several years.
    Though I do have a new bike and want the best position for speed and comfort.
    Rather suprised after shelling out money for a bike fit Im back to fiddling with the saddle.
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    if your saddle is too low then raise it till your hips are rocking and then lower it a tad.

what a computer says is only info against a norm. which may be wrong for you.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • a new bikes geometry can be enough to "unsettle" your muscles, when i got my current bike, i noticed my lower thighs were burning which they hadnt done for a good few years, the seat was at the correct height and evrything else was set up right.
    it passed once the muscles got used to it though
    i spent all me money on whisky and beer!!!
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    These bike fit things are too rigid in what they say. They don't show how a bike will handle when you are riding the thing.