What tyres/wheels Help

cliffw0970
cliffw0970 Posts: 12
edited July 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
Put a post on a few days ago about buying my Trek 6300 which im enjoying immensly

I have already started changing a few little bits on it (not going crazy)

What recommendations would you make on wheels and tyres. As im a complete noob any help would be appreciated, or link if there is a thread somewhere

Cheers

In addition to that they will be used for on and off road

Comments

• njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    What don't you like about the current wheels, and how much are you thinking of spending?
  • flowpro
    flowpro Posts: 64
    You could try Maxxis Crossmark Tyres they are good on the road and offroad. Just adjust the tyres pressures depending on what ride you are planning. They don't work very well in the wet/mud but it's going to be summer forever :P

cliffw0970 wrote:
    Put a post on a few days ago about buying my Trek 6300 which im enjoying immensly

I have already started changing a few little bits on it (not going crazy)

What recommendations would you make on wheels and tyres. As im a complete noob any help would be appreciated, or link if there is a thread somewhere

Cheers

In addition to that they will be used for on and off road
  • cliffw0970
    Thanks flowpro

As for the reason, no other than I just want to upgrade as much as I can because im a tackle tart :-)

Not really thought about cost, how about £50 per wheel and £30 per tyre?

Thanks

Cliff
  • ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    don't bother with the wheels. just get new rubber and then ride it until you break things at which point upgrade.
  • ride_whenever
    basically wheels for £50 will be poo, but spend £40 on a tyre and you'll notice the difference.

Rocket rons are awesome, but wear badly. For more durability try the panaracer rampage/razer mx combination. It's awesome.
  • cliffw0970