Wheels and Tubes Slipping on Rims, HELP!

willhart
willhart Posts: 41
edited July 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
I have been riding my Specialized FSR XC Pro for about 18 months now, I have recently stepped up both the regularity and the severity of my riding, I now ride technical trails about 3-4 times per week.

Up until the last few weeks I have had no problems with the bike. Was even still on the origional tyres and tubes, albeit with a few repair patches!

I have punctured 3 inner tubes in the last week caused by the valve seperating from the tube, both the old (origional) tubes and also one brand new tube. I have noticed that after a hard ride the valves are tilted at an angle, the front wheel in the direction of braking, the rear in the opposite direction (from climbing). I am sure the tyres are slipping on the rims.

I thought that my very well used origional specialized tyres were probably the cause, so I have just bought a brand new set of tyres.

Went for a ride tonight and whilst I was very happy with the grip from my new boots they still slipped on the rims and the valves still had not stayed straight at the end of the ride.

I am running prety high tyre pressures in an attempt to avoid the problem but that isn't helping either, and I am suffering with front end grip on the loose as I am running my tyres rock hard!

My Rims are DT Swiss 445D's (ERD 543, ETRTO 559x17mm)

My Tyres are all 2.2's the new ones are Mountain Kings.

I find it very easy to change tyres on these rims, and never need a to use a tyre lever at all. Dont know if that is relevent! My rim strip is the origional plasitic strip provided fitted with the bike.

If anybody can offer any advice as to what is causing this problem and how to cure it I'd be really greatfull, I have my first 4hr Enduro in 1 week and want to solve it in time for my final training rides this week.

Many Thanks,

Will Hart. :?

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675