Going from complete novice to Mega-Avalanche

Tango_nuts
Tango_nuts Posts: 3
edited July 2010 in MTB beginners
... in 13 months

Hi all, long time lurker here...

Recently started new job and met some new colleagues who are really into there MTB's and have done competitions etc. all over Europe.

There's talk afoot now of attempting Mega Avalanche next year - I've only been out on my bike with them once and absolutely loved it, so I'm now working on getting to a decent level solo as they are running much higher level stuff than me (I had a go at what they called a training run and nearly crapped myself!)

Is it possible to work up to a good enough level for Mega Avalanche in such a short period of time? Would it be worth upgrading from my bike (2008 HT Felt Q620) to http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/Felt_ ... 360049677/? Would the Redemption be suitable for a MTB beginner? I'm guessing fitness is a very important factor? I currently do a bit of road cycling (Around 80 miles a week) just to keep what little fitness I have (A lot of a beer belly going on!)

Comments

• omegas
    omegas Posts: 970
    If you have the time , money , commitment and can stay injury free it can be done.

I would question why you want to do it after one time out riding with friends, maybe better to ride off road for a few months and then rethink what you want out of your new hobby .
  • omegas wrote:
    If you have the time , money , commitment and can stay injury free it can be done.

I would question why you want to do it after one time out riding with friends, maybe better to ride off road for a few months and then rethink what you want out of your new hobby .

Oops, I have only ridden with them once but have enjoyed light MTB (Well, I thought it was fairly tough stuff!) for quite some time, and they just showed me how it's done, and it sort of just clicked that I really would quite like to do it!

Thanks for the response :)
  • omegas
    omegas Posts: 970