Im new to disc brakes and need to know which are the best

theone5800
theone5800 Posts: 36
edited June 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
I bought a marin point reyes 2009 bike the other day it came with avid juicey 3's but they seem so weak my vbrakes are a lot stronger.I also think they need bleeding because the brake levers are coming pretty close to the handlebars.I dont know anything about disc brakes or when they need bleeding but these seem so weak.I just need to know what brakes i should invest in i dont want the most expensive brakes just something in the middle but good brakes.

Comments

• chedabob
    chedabob Posts: 1,133
    I've got Juicy 3s and they do the trick. Definitely sounds like you need to bleed them, or extend the reach a bit.
  • peter413
    peter413 Posts: 5,120
    Avid Elixir 5's for £135 a pair from CRC or Merlin
  • itsmygame
    itsmygame Posts: 277
    hi guys i got a specialized hardtail and it came with avid elixers '4' but ive read somewhere that they only come in odd numbers... i was out today and also thinkin about brake up grade lol
    RockHopper Expert ---- (the bike not me)
  • joshtp
    joshtp Posts: 3,966
    dont buy new, the J3's arnt the best, but they should be beter than that. Bleed them , if it persists get new pads and clean the rotors, bed them in and bleed them, that should fix any issues. Mostly though, they just sound like they need a bleed. should be fine.....

You may want to change them in the futur as they arnt the best brakes out there.... but will be fine untill they truly do die, or you have some spare cash for shiny bits... :D

BTW... you have bedded them in, right? if you havent they will be low on power.... although the pulling to the bar suggests they definately need a bleed.
    I like bikes and stuff
  • diy
    diy Posts: 6,473
    Keep your J3s and learn how to bleed them with a kit ;)

Seriously the J3s can be superb if correctly maintained, with quality pads etc.