Want to buy a road bike (300ish tops)

LaurenceGough
LaurenceGough Posts: 218
edited June 2010 in Road buying advice
Hi guys,

Well, I've always wanted a proper one... Time to get myself a road bike. I have many years of cycling experience with mountain bikes but I also ride a mountain bike with road tires every day to work (very heavy and with icky dual suspension :shock: ).

Lightness is what I'm after, for the hills. But price comes first, don't have much spare money at all, as much as I would love to spend more 300 pounds is the most I can afford :(.

New or used I don't mind. Looked on eBay but not much seems to be around the Reading area.

Any advice would be great, thanks!

Cheers,

Laurence
Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Elite 2010
Mongoose Tyax Elite 2007
Carrera Limited Edition TDF

Full suspension - King of the forest!

If anyone rides in Sulham Wood give me a shout :).

Comments

• Hi, around 300 isn't alot for a road bike, your guna be struggling getting something new. Just keep looking second hand would be my advise. Take a look in the classifieds on here. I bought a road bike for that price a few months back and its still going well. just keep looking!
  • Thanks Road Warrior, that's true I know but all I can afford, anything more than that and I would worry also about it being nicked too much!

I posted a wanted ad here on these forums, thanks for the tip!

Cheers
    Mongoose Tyax Elite 2007

• carrera tdf on offer presently at 299.99 ....
  • rake
    rake Posts: 3,204
    keep your eye on ebay for a boardman comp, they seem to have attracted lots of want to be cyclists who cant be arsed, bag yourself a nearly new bargain.
  • carrock
    carrock Posts: 1,103
    Technex wrote:
    Hi guys,

Well, I've always wanted a proper one... Time to get myself a road bike. I have many years of cycling experience with mountain bikes but I also ride a mountain bike with road tires every day to work (very heavy and with icky dual suspension :shock: ).