Specialized Allez vs Secteur

dave_rudge
dave_rudge Posts: 22
edited June 2010 in Road buying advice
Hi Guys,

Im looking at buying my first road bike - ive looked through all the literature and have kinda fallen in love with the Specialized Allez. I went into the Specialized concept store at the weekend and had a chat with one of the guys in there and said that I liked the Allez, but as a newbie I was a little concerned about the width of the tires (although I thought they could be replaced with slightly thicker profile tires) and that id like to do some touring at somepoint - although id read that the Allez didnt perform very well with paniers. Mainly though im just looking for a road bike i can train on and do triathalons on

The guy said that the Secteur would offer me the best of both worlds and allow me to do both touring and tri - and kinda ignored the fact id said i like the Allez and ran through what the Secteur, without really menitoning the Allez again.

Im now confused - id had my heart set on the Allez and I dont want to get a secteur and then regret it. Do i pick the Secteur, even though I dont like the way it looks but i can use it for everything, or do I get the Allez and then when I want to do some touring get a second, touring bike?

Also, assuming that my budget stretches to any of the Allez bikes, should I be looking at triple, compact or double chainsets?

Any advice / guidence would be brilliant!

Comments

• EssexSuffolk
    EssexSuffolk Posts: 112
    Secteur for touring? I'm not sure that's correct - I can't see any eyelets for panniers. As far as I know, the Secteur is designed for comfort on long all-day rides. The Allez is a slightly "racier" riding position. If you're looking to do tri etc, I'd be going for the Allez - it's a well-regarded entry level road bike. People have toured on them: not ideal, by any measure, but it can be done.