MTB Shoes

Jonnycrawford7
Jonnycrawford7 Posts: 56
edited June 2010 in MTB beginners
Just a quick question, baring in mind that im a total novice i apologise if this is a silly question,

Can the mtb shoes which are designed to be used with clipless pedals still be used on flat pedals?

Its just i need some mtb shoes and dont feel im ready to start using clipless pedals yet, but if i can use the shoes on flat pedals it saves me buying an extra pair of shoes just for my flat pedals while i get my confidence up!

Cheers
2010 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp

2012 Cannondale Caad8 Tiagra

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Oh for god's sake. Enough with the whole
    dont feel im ready to start using clipless pedals yet
    You don't have to EVER switch. Don't feel pressured by the blowhards. If at some point you want to give it a go, fine, but there's nothing wrong with flats.

I'm sorry, but this really annoys me when so many people push the attitude of "if you don't ride spuds you're not a real MTBer" It's personal preference, simple as that.
  • Im well aware its a personal choice, its the thought that they make you a more efficient rider that appeals to me. But i didnt ask should i or shouldnt i switch to clipless pedals, i know ill try them eventually which is why i wanted to know if clipless shoes work on both pedals?

• kaytronika
    kaytronika Posts: 580
    Definately don't feel forced to switch. I use SPDs as it's my preference.
    In answer to your question, MTB shoes have a stiff sole and can be used with regular pedals. They're a bit off for walking in, but the stiff sole works well for pedalling in.
    --
    '09 Carrera Fury
    '94 GT Timberline FS
    '89 Saracen Tufftrax
  • Great thanks, thats all i needed to know! i shouldnt be walking far in them anyway, garage and back hopefully!

• kaytronika
    kaytronika Posts: 580
    I usually walk in to the cafe for some cake... Cleats make me sound like some sort of outlaw.