Messenger Bag vs Rucsac

Zulu dawn
Zulu dawn Posts: 11
edited June 2010 in Commuting chat
Dear All,
I currently use a small Deuter race rucsac to carry my bits and bobs over my 30 mile return journey. I ride a Tricross Comp through all weathers etc and I am of a "sturdy" rather than racing snake build.
Does any one have a POV re Messenger bag vs Rucsac as I fancy a change but not sure which way to go ? :wink:

P.s. I am not in for panniers, bar bags etc...
..............................................................................................

You have much to learn Padawan.

Do or Don't ... there is no try.

Comments

• redvee
    redvee Posts: 11,922
    I've been using messenger bags for the last three years now and can't see myself going back to a rucksack. The benefits from my memories of rucksacks have been lack of sweaty back though some rucksacks have measures in place to stop/reduce this and ease of access with a messenger bag. I can keep the bag over my shoulder and have access with only undoing one buckle on the chest strap, try doing that with a rucksack when stopped at a set of lights. The only downside is that I need to put the bag over my shoulder before I put my helmet on in the morning as I've got the shoulder strap quite tight, it's possible but I do catch my the helmet light at times.
    I've added a signature to prove it is still possible.
  • meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    I use an extra-large bum/waist bag and I think it's perfect as I'm not even concious that I've got it on when riding. One of these

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/Inov- ... 360031758/

I can fit quite a bit in it including a fresh shirt and underwear if necessary. It seems to keep the water out and it doubles as a water carrier for non-commuting running & riding.
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • asprilla
    asprilla Posts: 8,440