'Credit Card' Touring Advice (North France > Bilbao)

gcaster
gcaster Posts: 152
edited May 2010 in Tour & expedition
Hi, I'm pretty new to this whole touring game but my Girlfriend and I are planning on touring from either Le Havre or Paris down to Bilbao in September.

We've not done much with regard to planning as such but our first step is to get my girlfriend a decent bike.
I'll be doing it on my alu/carbon racing bike and Carradice Super C seatpack. Considering we'll be doing around 50 miles a day (with some rest days here and there) I figure this is gonna be just fine. My girlfriends bike is goin to be part-funded by her Dad as a graduation present with a budget of around £400ish.
I was thinking of just a run of the mill entry level road bike (Dawes Giro 300 looking our best bet at the moment) and put a comfy seat and some slightly thicker tyres on it. On the other hand there's the option of a basic touring bike. This will be pushing the budget a bit and I'm not sure if it's overkill for what we're doing.
We're looking at staying in caravans, hostels and maybe a cheeky hotel here and there, taking minimal clothing, wash stuff, few bike spares and that's about it.

What would people recommend we look at?
Basically it's a case of would a road bike with seatpack be suitable for what we're doing? If we struggle for space we could always add a decent bar-bag.

Cheers

(I'll keep this thread running with more questions as and when they come up!)

Comments

• tatanab
    tatanab Posts: 1,283
    gcaster wrote:
    Basically it's a case of would a road bike with seatpack be suitable for what we're doing? If we struggle for space we could always add a decent bar-bag.