Mags!?

sophsoph
sophsoph Posts: 24
edited June 2010 in MTB beginners
Hey all! Got my birthday coming soon and am thinking of asking for some bike mag subscriptions! I am fairly new to MTBing but love it already was hoping foor some recommendations from you veterans!

Ideally want tips on riding, gear and places to go! :D

Thanks! xx

Comments

• MBUK (mountain biking uk) is the one that this website is run by, and thats pretty sweet, ticks all of the boxes mentioned above, and is written by people who speak proper english which is nice (cause theres very little BS)
  • jairaj
    jairaj Posts: 3,009
    I quite like What Mountain Bike but magazines are a personal choice why not buy a handful and read them. See which one you end up liking?
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    I'd say What Mountain Bike, or MBUK. The former is aimed at a slighter more mature audience and less gravity fueled antics, the latter covers more ground and scenes within the sport.

Oh, and I write for WMB :wink:
  • phoenixliston
    phoenixliston Posts: 112
    I'd say printwise you'd be hard-pushed to find one cooler than MBUK.

I know a couple of free ones too that act as a good supplimnet. I'll try and remember their names and let you know..

Good luck! 8)
  • phoenixliston
    phoenixliston Posts: 112
    OK i'm back!

..couldn't remember the free MTB mag off top of head - so had to ask a mate to remind me / send a link!

Here it is, well the website anyway.. http://www.imbikemag.com

latest issue is this: http://www.imbikemag.com/issue5/

its a digital glossy so looks like print but u read it online, pretty great actually (had vids too). Should keep you occupied until you get the subs sorted. Def grab MBUK and maybe Dirt Rag too.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Just for the record, this website if run by Future Publishing, not MBUK.
  • mrfmilo
    mrfmilo Posts: 2,250