Do you train or just pedal?

rolf_f
rolf_f Posts: 16,015
edited May 2010 in Commuting chat
Curious really because I'm not sure I don't just pedal.

I started riding again in late 2008. I built up my commuting over last year completing 2200 miles in 2009. In 2010, already I am well over 3000 miles. I extend my commute to take in extra hills climbing at least 1400 feet a day.

At weekends I ride sportives or go for rides on my own - I vary them from shorter to long, flattish to hilly. I don't pay much attention to my speed because, until now, I have been hampered by heavy bikes making it hard to compare my performance (I can cruise the 28 lb Dawes Horizon at around 20mph on flat or gently undulating terrain though).

I've just done the Keswick Mountain Challenge and found it pretty straightforward and managed a respectable time and would hope to do the Fred Whitton next year (but I'd expect it to be fairly doable unless the weather is really hot) and I have vague ideas of doing the Etape (one thing I'd thought would be cool to do, before I got into cycling, was a full TdF stage).

Thing is though, whilst these are aims, I can't think that I am actually training as such for them. I'm riding a lot, and varying what I do, and that is making me fitter but I'm not training.
I pop into the training forum in Road bikes and see a load of stuff about max heart rate etc and think I ought to work this stuff out but it seems a bit tedious and doesn't get done!

So am I making poor use of my time in the saddle? Is everyone else taking it a bit more seriously? Do tell!
Faster than a tent.......

Comments

• SimonLyons
    SimonLyons Posts: 203
    I read the title and thought you meant "do you use the train" until I read the thread to which I would have said yes when I am not on my bike.

Do you train, my commute is my training - keeps weight down and heart healthy, I am not bothered about getting "stronger".
  • Bassjunkieuk
    Bassjunkieuk Posts: 4,232