Hi, looking for budget bike, trail finding advice, etc

chrisbassist
chrisbassist Posts: 115
edited May 2010 in MTB beginners
Hi, my names Chris, and i'm new to this...

I want to get into MTB for health and fun. So not looking to go too serious (but who knows if i'll want to take things more seriously in a few years time) I was into BMX when I was younger, but BMXs are rather limited in their use...

So first question would be a budget bike... I was reading reviews on here, liked the look of the Mongoose Fireball, had a look round, and it seems they no longer do it. so had a browse and found the Ghost 4-X. This would be the very top end of my budget, so any other suggestions please keep them less than the £400 list price of the 4-X (hopefully will still be able to get a better deal, but I would rather spend closer to 300)

Is the 4-X (V brake) a good bike for beginners? and what are its strengths? and what others like this could you recommend?

how will these dirt jump bikes fair on the road? will they be easy enough to ride long distances? I'm training for a half marathon, so thought a few long bike rides every now and again would really help. I'm thinking about a 50ish mile trip to see friends, then ride back either next day or after a couple of days.

lastly how do you guys go about finding trails to ride? I don't know about any near here but is it a case of going for a ride to see what you can find? or is it more a case of looking at maps? or what?

Thanks for any advice you can give.

Comments

• kaytronika
    kaytronika Posts: 580
    As far as finding trails is concerned... I suppose the first thing you can do is a bit of research on here and other similar forums.