Bleeding Juicy 3s - torque wrench required?

Anonymous
Anonymous Posts: 79,667
edited May 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
The instructions Avid have for Juicy 3 bleeding involves a torque wrench. Whilst I have one, it's only for high torque, not the low torque range.

Buying a kit is already £30+, and a torque wrench is a significant expense on top.

I know it's advised but does anyone really bother with one? If not, what's a good way to get a feel for the right torque?

Comments

• NDawn
    NDawn Posts: 238
    Afaik, and I've never done a bleed before, all you need is a torx T10? to un do the bleed ports. Although if you are loosening the levers from the bar they may need tightening up to a specific torque.

Ah I've just watched the video and they doo state a specific torque for tightening the levers.
  • Luke-Dob
    Luke-Dob Posts: 121
    The Torx T10 is normally provided with the Avid Bleed Kit for opening the bleed ports.

The use of the Torque wrench is for doing up the mounting bolts for the caliper and levers.
    "If I Was Falling, YOU BETTER FREAKING CATCH ME!!!"
    6 years riding bikes, 8 broken bones, gravity can be a b**ch
    http://dobby.pinkbike.com/album/My-Bikes-D/
  • ftwizard
    ftwizard Posts: 253
    You'll find a wrench in the bleed kit, this is for tightening up the cable nuts if you have shortened the cables. If you don't need to shorten the cables, then you wont need a torque wrench.
  • Anonymous
    edited May 2010
    Thanks. The manual is for both shortening and for bleeding. The list of tools you need mentioned at the beginning doesn't make it clear as it mentions both the Torx and a torque wrench, but reading through, yeah looks like I don't need it just for bleeding.
  • Atz
    Atz Posts: 1,383
    To be honest, as long as you're not a total idiot (and I don't think you are), you'd have a fair idea of what "tight enough" is. It's not as exact as a torque wrench but I've done without one so far.
  • monkeypants