Hyrdaulic Disc Brakes...rotor rubbing on the pad

Dazza78
Dazza78 Posts: 32
edited May 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
Morning all,

Please forgive me if I get some of the technical terms wrong, but I'm fairly new to this mountain bike malarky :wink:

Right, I picked up my new Rockhopper SL Comp last Friday (love it by the way!), and have been out on some gentle xc rides around the local area, mainly consisting of dusty/hardpack/rocky/rooty trails, and believe I have 'bedded-in' the Juicy 3 SL brakes in this time.

When I got back from my first ride, which was in the evening after I had picked the bike up, I noticed a rubbing sound coming from the front. Having taken a closer look, I've noticed that there is a 1-1.5mm 'gap' between the left hand pad and the rotor, but the right hand pad is just kissing the rotor, which is obviously causing this rubbing noise.

When I put the bike in the car I take the front wheel off and I've been extremely careful in making sure the front brake lever isn't squeezed, and I've also been careful when putting the wheel back in the forks and making sure the rotor goies in cleanly between the pads etc. I don't believe the rides that I've been on are the cause of this either.

Is this just a case of me not bedding the brakes in properly and me over-reacting? Or is it just a simple case of the rotor/pads not being aligned correctly? Maybe even the wheel not being re-fitted plumb? As this is the first bike I've owned with hydraulic brakes I'm not too sure what to expect and I'm not too keen of having a fiddle around with the brakes either (all I've done is use a flat bladed screw driver to make sure the pads are fully apart) . Shall I just take it back to the LBS and get them to have a quick check or is there something 'obvious' that I'm missing?

Comments

• diy
    diy Posts: 6,473