Hardtails and theoretical flex

Stoneboy
Stoneboy Posts: 20
edited May 2010 in MTB general
Having had a few hardtails over the years I have to wonder if there is any truth in steel ones flexing more than aluminium ones etc. Now; I work in the metal industry so have some knowledge about steels, aluminiums and titaniums (amongst others) and agree that they do behave differently; but when welded into a fairly small triangle I wonder if there really is any meaningful flex. Think a comfortable seat will make more difference.

One of the mags should do a controlled test using controlled loads and measuring machinery, unless perhaps they are concerned about the power of the advertising dollar if they dispell an industry myth :wink:

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    It depends on the frame tube profiles. As you know, steel is stiffer than aluminiumn, but as alu has no fatigue limit and a lot less tensile strength, the tubes are oversized which massively increases stiffness.

Generally. Some alu frames flex more than steel ones. So it does really depend on the final structure. I would say most flex is not in the vertical plane though, and agree that a saddle, and big tyres may have more effect for comfort.
  • Northwind
    Northwind Posts: 14,675
    edited May 2010
    Triangles are very strong but the edges of the triangle can still compress... I did a ride on my Soul where the rear mech broke and I converted to singlespeed. Every so often it'd manage to shift down, and compress the seatstays- the wheel'd almost jam solid from the huge chain tension, then when I took the QR off the stays would spring back to straight and fire the wheel up in the air :lol: So definately there's room to flex there!

But, as SS says it's not about the material, my old Scandal felt more like a "typical comfy steel bike" than a "harsh alloy bike" but my brother's old Rufftrak steel frame is about as stiff as a Chameleon. Construction is just as important.