First Time Bike Assembly Help

daftpunk
daftpunk Posts: 14
edited May 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
Ok, so i've just received delivery of my new giant xtc 4 :D

I had to attach the handlebars, seatpost, front wheel and pedals. Although i've never done this before and the instructions weren't very clear, i think i've done it. However, it states i should use a pedal spanner which i dont have, would any normal spanner work just as well? Also, i have been left with 2 random parts and i've no idea what they are, where they should go and if i should of attached them somewhere or not. Can anyone identify the below parts and if i need to attach them?

p1000781e.jpg

p1000782r.jpg

Thanks in advance for any help! :)
Awaiting my first MTB... Giant XTC 4 2009

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    a pedal spanner is just a long 15mm spanner so it is easy to get the right force.

a bell and a reducer if needed to make bell fit to bars or....

if sold by a shop it should be fitted. but as you are building the bike it is up to you.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • daftpunk
    Oh right lol, didn't realise it was a bell, it doesn't have any part to actually hit it to make the ring sound :oops:

Also, there is a plastic bag with a big syringe in it, some tubes and some small little screws and bolt things. I am presuming this is something for the hydraulic brakes but not sure if i should be doing something with them?

Also, as a seperate issue. I bought a bigfoot propstand but it has come with no instructions and i'm not sure where exactly to attach it to the bike.
  • stumpyjon
    stumpyjon Posts: 4,069
    Pedal spanners also tend to be slimmer so will fit between pedal and crank, not all normal spanners will fit. Sounds like the syringe and pipes are for bleeding brakes.
    It's easier to ask for forgiveness than for permission.