My poor crank arm...

Phinx
Phinx Posts: 297
edited May 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi guys and girls. I don't post often but an emergency forced me to come in to the world of the living. A few days ago (imbaressed) my crankarm fell of as i was riding. I didnt give it a big thought and just bolted it back on. Yesterday it flew off again and i got really peed of and decided to take a look. To my suprise the bolt thread was gone and it seems the thread inside the bottom bracket is gone as well. How can this be? I only bought it in november last year i started riding it in january?

Not sure what by BB is but it is a Giant Yukon FX3 and the website says it is just a 'cartridge'.
Giant Yukon FX3

Comments

• What cranks are they?
  • Phinx
    Truvativ ISOFlow
    Giant Yukon FX3
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    splined or?
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Phinx
    Square taper
    Giant Yukon FX3
  • nicklouse
    replace the cranks and bb as the arm will just keep coming off even if you replace the BB.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
  • Phinx
    why cranks?
    Giant Yukon FX3
  • hounslow
    hounslow Posts: 153
    Phinx wrote:
    why cranks?
    chances are it falling off/running loose has worn away at the inside of the crank arm, causing a sloppy fit.
  • Phinx
    How can they if their have no thread in them? They just go on and a rather wide end of the bolt is keeping them in place by pressing it againsts the BB.
    Giant Yukon FX3
  • ilovedirt
    ilovedirt Posts: 5,798
    Yeah but since you've been riding it while it's been loose, the square taper on the BB and crank arm will no longer be a decent fit, so it will keep coming undone.
    Production Privee Shan

B'Twin Triban 5
  • Phinx