Panniers for HAMAX

tracy77
tracy77 Posts: 3
I'm new to all this so please be gentle people!!

Can anyone help. I'm just about to start commuting with my 3 year old. I've got the Hamax Kiss but I've just realised (after fitting it to the bike) that the rack had to come off.

My problem now is that I can't find any panniers that are compatible. aaarggh how do I get my clothes to work???

Does anyone have ANY possible solutions??? :cry:

Comments

• thelawnet
    thelawnet Posts: 719
    Can you carry them in a backpack?

Hamax do make a solution that works with panniers, the Plus system.
  • fnegroni
    fnegroni Posts: 794
    How heavy is your 3yo?

The hamax kiss looks like my hamax siesta. I do use it with a pannier rack: I mount the seat tube bracket fairly high to clear the rack.
    How big is your frame?

The Hamax Plus system does allow carrying pannier bags, but AFAICT, only the Hamax Plus specific ones. The question is weather all that weight will be too much and handling affected.

My son, now 3 1/2yo, is getting too heavy for this combination, so I have opted for a trailgator. I would probably invest in a single seater trailer or even a tag-along bike if the trailgator wasn't an option.
  • tracy77
    tracy77 Posts: 3
    Thanks for the replies,

My 3yo is 17kg. I know! Quite a weight!!

I only have to have her with me for around 4 miles of my 12 mile commute so I'm hoping the handling isn't gonna be a problem. There's just no way I could possibly do the backpack thing as arriving at work semi dry is already gonna be an issue nevermind adding a sweaty back to the equation.

I've ordered a handlebar pannier to see if I can squeeze everything I need in there. (fingers crossed!) Guess I'm just gonna have to be extra organised and leave lots of spares at work

Wish me luck!
  • fnegroni
    fnegroni Posts: 794
    tracy77 wrote:

Wish me luck!

Good luck! And hats off for being such a committed commuter and parent! :-)
  • Arfa
    Arfa Posts: 17