Come home Vino, all is forgiven...

Bakunin
Bakunin Posts: 868
edited May 2010 in Pro race
Interesting quotes from Vino:

http://velonews.competitor.com/2010/04/ ... %99_113088

“I condemn doping and I am working hard to prove that my victories are clean,” Vinokourov said Sunday.

“I paid two years and now I want to show I can win without doping.”

“After 2007, I was stopped two years for doping, two years that were very hard for me. I am here without doping and to show that I can win big races. I have worked hard and people can have confidence in me. I also have my experience. I have worked very hard to return to good condition. Today is a beautiful revenge for me.”

“After my ban, I realized I could not work with Ferrari any more. I have not worked with any special trainer since then. I have more than 10 years experience, so I train alone and sometimes get advice from our team trainer,” he said.

Is he admitting his cycling transgressions here? Will he now join the Gang of Admired Repentant Dopers (Millar, Sella, Basso, Sinkewitz)?

What a day -- a good race and a public confession.

Comments

• BikingBernie
    BikingBernie Posts: 2,163
    “After my ban, I realized I could not work with Ferrari any more..."
    I wonder what his issue with Ferrari is?
  • Bakunin
    Is this the anatomy of a cycling conversion? Praise the Lord, and you can keep the EPO...I don't need it.

David Millar better move over, here comes Vino!

When asked if he condemned doping today, he was nearly incredulous:

"Why would I not? Obviously, we must fight doping. Some still play with fire, but we must work to achieve something. That is why I want to show what I do now. As for 2007? I do not want to return to it. I served my two year suspension..."

http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/3930/ ... eturn.aspx
  • Richrd2205
    Richrd2205 Posts: 1,267
    I guess my issue with this is the following: