Gears Jumping, new cassette needed?

kev_gray
kev_gray Posts: 44
edited April 2010 in The workshop
Hey all.
I changed my chain on my bike on Friday when giving it the weekly post working week scrub down after noticing the chain was getting to around 1% wear on the checking tool. Well I thought that would be all good except when riding in today at first I thought I heard a very slight click when pedalling (not sure as the wind was gale force so hard to hear). Later on my ride in when I hit the hilly section and changed gears the chain started jumping a lot in one or two of the back gears while in the middle cog on the front. Is this a sign of the cassete also needing changed as the new chain is not shaped as the old one? I'm pretty new at all this maintenance stuff so will it just mean I need to change the rear cassete? Also if the cassette is worn how early should I be thinking of changing the chain in order to save this sort of thing happening again?
Any help/advice is most appreciated!
Kevin

Comments

• It does sound as though your cassette needs changing too. It sounds as though you did the right thing changing the chain at just under 1%, this usually minimises the number of times you need to change the cassette, you may have just been unlucky.

My old BSO had the annoying habit of teeth snapping off the rear cogs, have a good look at the cassette, you may have had the same thing happen.
  • kev_gray
    Cheers for the tips! Will monitor it closely on way home and hopefully have time for a proper look this evening! I had a quick look on wiggle and its only around £20 to replace the rear cassette anyway so not a major cost!
  • kurako
    kurako Posts: 1,098
    Could be a combination of a stretched cable and the fact you've cleaned off all the sticky gunk.