Bike rebuild .... help please!

drobeu0
drobeu0 Posts: 21
edited April 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi,

i recently bought my wife a second hand Kona Fire Mountain off ebay it has arrived and is shocking condition! However i will be positive and look at this as an opportunity to develop my maintenance skills, which are very low as I am new to this game.

My plan is to take the bike to pieces, bag up all the parts so nothing gets lost, clean up, fix and replace what i can and replace that which i can't. The bike id for my wife and so only needs to ride along canal paths and around reservoirs etc.

My question really is where do i start, what order should i look to fix and rebuild in?

thanks, any advice would be great Duncan :?

Comments

• Shaun20
    Shaun20 Posts: 218
    You do not really mention any specific detail of the main problems so makes it a little difficult. Assuming frame and forks are in good condition, I would start by checking if the components, ie chain, chainrings, drivetrain, wheels are worn or just poorly setup. If they are worn this could prove costly, but if not give it a good clean (get some good degreaser). Then service wheelhub bearings, bottom bracket etc, and replace brake pads, and cables. Then see how you get on.

If the drivetrain is shot you could always run singlespeed. :D
  • jpstar
    jpstar Posts: 561
    Start bearings (i.e. Headset, BB, Hubs etc) then look at the chain, cassette, mech (jockey wheels, spring tension broken parts etc?). If it in a "shocking condition" I would almost certainly replace the cassette and chain anyway.
    Tyres, are the threads worn badly? Are the fibres showing? If so, replace them if possible. While on wheels, give them a true up or alternatively and possibly safer alternative is the lbs as truing them first time round can leave them a bit egg shaped.