Stuck with handlebars

Ben GT
Ben GT Posts: 25
edited April 2010 in MTB beginners
Howdy

I am new to mountain biking and have recently started experimenting with my bike set up. I have raised the seat to a position where my legs are comfortable but as a result this is causing some lower back ache after my ride!

I have tried to raise my handlebars and cant- i dont think they move! I dont know what i should change... I have read some some of the threads here advising 'change the stem' or 'change to riser handlebars'.

I am a noob and although i know what your talking about i dont completely follow! Can someone help?! Change the stem? Doesnt this attatch to the fork? How do i do this? Or riser handlebars? Are they the ones with a bend (no disrespect to anyone but are these like what womens bikes have..?)

I dont know whether i should just add bar ends to give me an extra inch and be done with it! Argh! :cry::cry::cry::cry:

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    What bike is it? Do you know what type of headset it is ie threadless or threaded?
  • Ben GT
    Gary Fisher Wahoo disc (2010)

Sorry not following headset :oops:
  • supersonic
    Did you get any instructions?

You have a threadless headset like this:

headset-threadless.jpg

You adjust height by swapping the spacers around. If you have no spacers above the stem, then you need a new bar and.or stem.
  • Ben GT
    I have two spacers. Is it possible to get more? Or do I have to take the bike apart and measure my stem and change it?

I appreciate your quick response and assistance :D
  • joshtp
    joshtp Posts: 3,966