loads of travel in back brake

NEIL 7
NEIL 7 Posts: 3
edited April 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi folks

i'm new to this game, i have a boardman sport mtb and having trouble with the back hydraulic brake.

its a "tektra auriga comp" there is loads of travel in the back brake and its not stopping me very well, i've tried bleeding the thing and i think i've done it properly no bubbles etc

put it all back together, same amount of travel if not more and sqeauling like a pig.

if someone could point ne in the right direction that would be good, i'd take it back to halfords but i wouldn't give them the time of day!

cheers, Neil.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Try pumping the lever repeatedly to set the pistons.

If still not good, you must take it back.
  • NEIL 7
    NEIL 7 Posts: 3
    thank you, so the travel in the lever is determined by the bleeding?
  • TowerRider
    TowerRider Posts: 430
    Have you seen my recent thread re exact brake? I had the same issue.
    See if scenario similar, got bike and used it for very small road ride and no issue, went for one half decent ride and no issue. Left bike standing (not raised or by wheel) for a good few months while busy with other things. Came to bike and noticed that the rear lever was very soft and all the way down. Pumping the lever would fix problem for a short period of time.
    I took the bike in for a service, this problem was allegedly fixed. Went to take it out on a ride and the lever very spongy.