Garmin mapping??

mtbhenry888
mtbhenry888 Posts: 287
Hi,
I have got an Edge 705 for my B-day and was using a site called ridewithgps.com to create a route, uploaded it no probs but directions were all over the place when i started riding the route, I have scoured the web and this forum but cannot work out which is the best mapping software to use.

also can someone explain how to do a route, i have been loading my routes onto the courses section is this correct, and also what is a way point in non Garmin language?

as you can tell i am rather confused and would appreciate a little advice from other edge 705ers!
Carbon fibre, it's all nonsense. Drink beer. Ride a steel bike. Don't be a ponce.

Comments

• also can someone explain how to do a route, i have been loading my routes onto the courses section is this correct
    That's probably your problem. I believe routes should be going in the GPX file (at least that's where all mine are). The Course folder is for tcx. files.
  • redvee
    redvee Posts: 11,922
    Bikeroutetoaster
    Bikely
    Bikehike

Will be mentioned no doubt.
    I've added a signature to prove it is still possible.
  • mtbhenry888
    ok, so how do i get them into another folder, i am saving them from the website then importing them into training centre then uploading to device which automatically puts them into courses folder.
    Carbon fibre, it's all nonsense. Drink beer. Ride a steel bike. Don't be a ponce.
  • When I do mine I map it on bikely, download the file then copy it and paste it into the GPX folder of the Garmins memory. You will be able to transfer the file from the course folder into the GPX folder in the same way. If it's worked you should be able to find the route under saved rides on your Garmin.

This is how I do it anyway. Don't know if it's the best way but it works fine for me :)
  • redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    Mapsource if you want a .gpx that works properly.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr