OT - Musically minded

gtvlusso
gtvlusso Posts: 5,112
edited March 2010 in Commuting chat
Just for fun:

Who on here plays a musical instrument? Perhaps professionally, semi-pro, in a band or just a home jingle maker.....

Comments

• gtvlusso
    And, no jokes about playing the "pink oboe" or "invisible banjo"......
  • bobs bikes
    bobs bikes Posts: 589
    well.... im a drummer but also play piano and guitar. cant sing for toffee though!
  • gert_lush
    gert_lush Posts: 634
    I play acoustic guitar to myself in my room and sing badly, but it keeps me happy (possibly not my housemates tho) :D:D
    FCN 8 mainly
    FCN 4 sometimes
  • lost_in_thought
    lost_in_thought Posts: 10,563
    Used to teach Clarinet and Saxomophone... then realised nobody pays any attention to a teenaged teacher. Have done some low-end session stuff and a fair few musicals etc for money, and still get occasional income playing with big bands/orchestras. Very, very occasional.

I also play the oboe (insert joke here), but only learned it for a-level music, then dropped it. I couldn't handle the jokes. :P

I wish I'd learned the piano, and still plan to learn the harp when I retire.
  • I was a professional double bass player for about 15 years, until I discovered I had incredibly high blood pressure (due to a dodgy kidney relaying ''send more blood'' messages to the heart). The fact that my brain or heart were about explode like an over-inflated tyre wasn't the problem though, it was the medication that stopped me working. (And, ok, I'll admit it - I may have been a little heavy on the après-gig drinks....)

My return to cycling was a part of the return to health and helped me to stop having to take the really debilitating medication. Work in progress...slowly does it...

(backing vocals professionally, odd usually non-paying gigs on guitar, classical piano - strictly amateur).
  • downfader
    downfader Posts: 3,686