Hello Everyone

Rada_Rada
Rada_Rada Posts: 10
edited March 2010 in Commuting chat
I've been lurking for a while just reading and trying to pick up as much information as possible. Really like the community here everyone wants to help and share, so I don't feel too embarrassed.

I've been commuting now for nearly nine months (only about eight miles there and back) and so far I've loved every minute.

I have two questions

At the moment I have a hybrid bike but now I want a decent road bike. I'm not too sure what to go for. I have been looking on eBay but I am really unsure what to go for. I am thinking about spending about £500. What are everyone thoughts?

As silly as this sounds and I feel stupid asking, the only thing that I am concerned about are the condition of the roads. Using a road bike is it likely that the numerous potholes will damage the wheels or cause punctures as the tires are thinner?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• downfader
    downfader Posts: 3,686
    Road bikes are built for the roads. Some have even been ridden on cobbles in races so I wouldnt worry.

There are so many different choices and variable involved pretty much the best advice anyone can give you is to trawl the bike shops and try loads. Ebay can be limiting for bike buying in some ways, as you're not always able to check over the condition and fit.
  • rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 27,486
    There are many on here who are far more qualified than I to recommend bikes, especially as I am still riding the same bike as I was 13 years ago.