The Race Reports Thread 2010

jibberjim
jibberjim Posts: 2,810
edited October 2010 in Amateur race
Last year Toks started this with:

"Come on then lets make this a dedicated race report thread. It will be especially great to hear from Newbies and those that are starting to progress. I'm in my 3rd proper year of racing and I'm hoping to bag a win this year and rack up the points as a 2nd cat racer. Ok thats enough -here's last weekend report"

I think various things got in his way on that one, but I'll start it this year with:

Come on then lets make this a dedicated race report thread. It will be especially great to hear from Newbies and those that are starting to progress. I'm in my 2nd year of racing and I'm hoping to bag a point this year and rack up the finishes as a 3rd cat racer. Ok thats enough -here's yesterdays report:

Tom Hawkins Memorial Road Race 2/3/4 Aylesbeare.

So I was down in Devon for a party, and entered this race, a 2/3/4 race of 4 laps of a 12.5 mile circuit. Good well run race, not many faces from my normal south east racing, but surprisingly a few had made the trip.

I started in a poor position in the pack, and the race went hard from the start, even the neutralized section which was up the last 500m of the course which was pretty much a 6% hill had me working harder than I would've liked. The profile showed a few miles of rollers, 5 miles of downhill and then 5 miles of uphill, I'd not had time to ride any of the circuit so I didn't know what more to expect.

I settled in and moved up nearer the front through the rollers, feeling good and with reasonable legs at this point for some reason I decided to join an early attack, we got a small but gap and the 6 of us were just beginning to form into a working group when a lorry appeared between us and the lead car and slowed us down enough at roundabout to end the break there and then.