Help with hand pain

cat_with_no_tail
cat_with_no_tail Posts: 12,981
edited March 2010 in MTB general
Ok, I know this has been done a few times before, but having looked through some of the old threads, no-one seems to have quite the same problem.

I've never had a problem with it before, and I've been using my current setup for a few months now with no problem, but on my last couple of rides, I've noticed that on long descents, I'm getting quite bad pain in my hands, it feels almost like it's about to cramp up.

The pain is in both hands, in the fleshy bit of the palm under the thumb and right down the outside of the palm under the little finger.

I'm trying to figure out the best way to make it go away, or at least reduce it. I cant decide if wider or shorter bars would help, or if more or less rise or backsweep is needed :?

Foam grips have also been suggested in other threads too, not sure how well that'd work though.

Any ideas?

Comments

• Aldo001
    Aldo001 Posts: 251
    I get that occasionally as well.
    I thought it might have been that I have been gripping to tightly or my grips were too small.
    It just feels like horrific cramp and it goes away if I open and close my hand a few times.
    Sorry if you thought this was someone helping when you saw that there was a new post in your thread :lol:
  • El Capitano
    El Capitano Posts: 6,401
    Have you tried Ergon grips? I found they helped to reduce pain and fatigue in my hands.
  • Johnny Napalm
    Johnny Napalm Posts: 1,458
    I'm suffering from pain around the left thumb. It feels like a nerve because the it's uncomfotable when I'm braking, when I have my weight on the handlebars, gripping etc. I've changed the brake lever postion, changed gloves, and got foam grips.